Vacation (All I Ever Wanted) : Winter 2014 Edition

I’m going to begin this blog post with a little analogy.
Ready? Okay.

POOKAS: POLAR VORTEXES :: VAMPIRES : _______?

a) sunlight
b) beheading
c) a stake through the heart
d) petite, blonde, teenage girls with superhuman strength who bear a name that’s more appropriate for a pet dog or cat than for a person — and even then, only if the pet’s owner is an especially sadistic individual.
e) all of the above

If you answered e) all of the above, you are absolutely correct!

Pookas do not do well in extremely frigid temperatures, which is why I’m getting the hell out of Dodge. (Dodge being New England, of course).

Tomorrow, I’ll be leaving on a jet plane for a much-needed vacation to the Sunshine State. I wish I could say that I don’t know when I’ll be back again – but I’ll be back on the 7th. It’s just a quick little jaunt. I don’t know what’s more exciting: actually going on vacation or packing for going on vacation.

Before you get too confused, remember: I’m a rabbit. My experience with packing is completely different from yours. I don’t have to lug my summer clothes out of storage and figure out what, if anything, still fits me. I don’t have to do last-minute loads of laundry to make sure that I have enough pairs of clean underwear for the week. I don’t have to agonize over which pairs of shoes to bring out of my vast collection, and which to leave behind. I don’t have blind myself (and unsuspecting others) with my pasty white skin, which hasn’t seen the sun in months. I don’t need to wear clothes (I’ve got my fur). And it’s just as sexy & freeing as it sounds.

The only thing I need to agonize over is which books to bring… and it’s a delicious sort of agony. Deciding on vacation reading is so indulgent!

Before I finalize my choices, I thought it might be prudent to share them with you. That way, if I’m picking a real loser, you kind folks can let me know! (If there are any people out there in the world who won’t judge me for the amount of books I’m about to list, it’s bloggers). Here we go.

These are the definites (unless otherwise swayed by you!):

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

I also have a few I’m still undecided on. Should they stay (home) or should they go (with me)?

ImageImageImage

I hope I’m not making a mistake by bringing mostly stand-alone novels. Last year when I went to Florida, I read six books… but that included ripping through most of the Mortal Instruments series. So, what do you make of my selections? Any undeniable keepers? Any duds? Am I missing anything? (Also, it should probably be noted that Paper Towns would be my first John Green. My library was (sadly but understandably) out of copies of The Fault in Our Stars… and both Rainbow Rowell books).

Alright, thanks for your literary wisdom!
See you in about a week for my Vacation Reading Round-Up post!

About pookapicks

I'm a 20-something gal working in Children's Library Services. My likes include googly eyes, coffee, magical realism, leading Story Hours, and forcing my taste in books down people's throats. I have a pet rabbit named Moxie Crimefighter.
This entry was posted in Adult Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment