Vacation Is As Vacation Does

Vacations can make a person greedy. Turns out, they can make a Pooka greedy, too.
When you take a vacation, usually the only thing you want when you come back is more vacation.

I just got back from Florida yesterday, and let me tell you… I don’t feel refreshed and ready to rejoin the work force. I feel ready to continue indulging myself and my desires, and that’s about it. Since I can’t continue lounging in the sun and eating stupid amounts of key lime pie forever, I’ve figured out a different way to keep indulging myself.

Not forever. Just for awhile.

Tomorrow, I have to rejoin the work force; I have no control over that. But I do have control over another type of work that I do: the work of reviewing (because while I enjoy it, there’s no denying that it is work). And I’d better take advantage of the control that I have now before someone inevitably decides to hire me and pay me oodles of money to write book reviews – an eventuality I’m sure is just around the corner… 
Who wouldn’t want to hire a bunny with these kind of skillz?
Am I right???

So, for a few weeks at least, I’m going to read without taking notes, without marking page numbers, without blogging. I’m going to read for the sheer pleasure of reading.

In my absence, might I suggest that you follow my friend Alyisha on Goodreads?
Image(She has amazing powers of persuasion and sometimes even manages to convince me to write reviews for her. I might be able to say “no” to you guys, but for some reason I can never say “no” to her. Compelling and lazy, that one is). I can’t promise that her reviews will be long, but they’ll be something, at least. To tide you over. I know how hard it will be for you to be away from me, from my cute little face, my way with words, my big floppy ears, and my luxurious fur…

But don’t despair… we’ll talk soon!
Don’t forget about me (as if you could)!
…And make sure you give in to your desires at some point this month, too.
February is the month of love! Show yourself a little love! 
And it’s President’s Month. Those guys considered some truths to be self-evident: life, liberty, and the pursuit of hedonism among them. Honor their memories.
Get a little naughty, a little negligent, a little Pooktastic. Just like Teddy Roosevelt. (If he wasn’t a Pooka, there was definitely one in his life. Why do you think he was constantly going on about walruses and bull mooses? Close encounters of the shapeshifting-animal kind…)

Goodbye (for now)! Happy Valentine’s/President’s Day!

About pookapicks

I'm a 20-something gal working in Children's Library Services. My likes include googly eyes, coffee, magical realism, leading Story Hours, and forcing my taste in books down people's throats. I have a pet rabbit named Moxie Crimefighter.
This entry was posted in Adult Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

