Feature & Follow Friday #8

This Friday, hosts Parajunkee & Alison Can Read have asked their devoted hoppers to  ruminate on the question of who they’d like to see star in a movie-version of their favorite book.

This is a difficult one for me, as I’m not a very visual reader. I must have been, once, as I distinctly remember being devastated after my fourth grade teacher read The Indian in the Cupboard to our class, following it with an in-class viewing of the film.

I almost cried in front of everyone. Thank goodness the lights were turned down low! I’d enjoyed Mrs. Lee’s reading of it so much, but the images on screen weren’t what I’d been seeing in my head. They weren’t even close. I’d never had that experience before.

Image

Life is full of big and little disappointments.

I know others have suffered similarly. When Robert Pattinson was cast as Twilight‘s Edward Cullen, Twi-hards reacted violently (despite the legions of female fans that he earned, post-production). I read an interview where he talked about his mother’s reaction to hearing people call her son ugly, or saying that he needed to wash his hair, or claiming that he looked like a gargoyle (which they then said was an insult to the gargoyle).

Image

People feel very passionately about the images in their heads.

But I stopped seeing those images so vibrantly years ago. Maybe it’s a defense mechanism that harkens back to those early childhood years. Now, I hear the text’s voice ringing like a bell, but the only thing I see are the curves and angles of the alphabet. Black marks on a white page – which, thankfully, hold their own beauty.

The only casting choice I can recall being upset about recently was Alexandra Daddario as Annabeth Chase, from Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson series (who I now realize played the super hot assistant at The Luncheonette’s recording studio on the show “Parenthood.” Who knew?!).

chase

I wasn’t mad that it was her, specifically, I was just offended that she was brunette. Annabeth (Athena, the Goddess of Wisdom’s, daughter) had specifically been described as being “blonde,” and the casting choice seemed to send the message that blondes couldn’t possibly be intelligent. I didn’t have a personal attachment to the cause, being a silver-haired rabbit myself, (the people at the adoption agency simply referred to me as “Mixed Breed”, but I’m pretty sure the form I took was that of a Lilac Himalayan rabbit, which was a fantastic choice if I do say so myself. Lilac flowers are symbolic of both love and death, and I love the paradoxical nature of that. Purple’s a majestic color, and the Himalayas are known for spirituality and magic. Pure perfection for a Pooka), but I did object on principle.

Image

I’ve heard that she’s gone blonde for the second movie, however, since fans were so dismayed by the inaccuracy. Which is as it should be.

Image

As for acting chops, I don’t really know that much about actors & actresses, either. I don’t go to the movies with any regularity (my boyfriend always falls asleep and hates to spend the money), and I don’t have cable (we just watch Netflix). I also don’t have one book that I can point to as my favorite. Egads! You see? Problems abound!

I did recently read Someday, Someday, Maybe, by Lauren Graham, however, with a book club I’m in. It’s about a young actress struggling to make it big in New York City.

ssm

Although I didn’t actively think about casting while reading it, and though it’s not my favorite book by any stretch of the imagination, I did like it and it did leave an impression. When we came together to discuss the book, I got into an argument over what the characters looked like with some of the other girls. We heard that they’re turning the book into a television series (and that Mae Whitman might be a candidate to play Franny – who currently, funnily enough, stars in “Parenthood,” – the same show that Alexandra Daddario was on!). My friends said that another friend of mine should play Dan. Said friend is bookish, for sure, as is the character. He drinks beer. He likes sci-fi. He has glasses and a long, lanky frame. But he’s blonde. Here he is:

Image

Again, that hair color thing. It’s big!

I disagreed vehemently. I was pretty sure the character had been described as having brown, slightly curly hair (at least at the nape of his neck).

Here’s who I pictured:

Image

A young Tom Hanks, a young Tom Everett Scott, & Brendan Hines.

Granted, two of those actors are now 20 years older than the character’s supposed to be, and could never look the part at this point, which is a bummer. But this is my dream. (By the way, if you haven’t watched the show The Middleman, which Brendan Hines was in for the one season it lasted, do yourself a favor & check it out. It was on ABC Family, weirdly, but it was hilarious and quirky and based on a comic book series, and was probably one of my favorite things on t.v. since Buffy ended).

There was also a ridiculously good-looking actor snob named James Franklin. I, of course, pictured James Franco.

james franco

And as for the lead, Franny, I guess Mae Whitman would do – though she’s a little young to play someone the same age as either of the above men (they’re supposed to be in their late 20’s). And I think a little bit young for the character herself.

Image

If not her, then definitely me. I’m movie-material, for sure.

Image

Being a shape-shifter, I have outstanding range;  I can play almost any role. But I’d be remiss to leave my current form. Look at the way the light hits my face. And my cheekbones! Gorgeous! I’m sure Franny could be rewritten as a Pooka. It would only add to the script.

I’m ready for my close-up, Mr. DeMille!

Anyway, I’m off! Back to reading my dragon book for the Paranormal Reading Challenge I’m participating in. Review soon! Thanks for hopping by!

About pookapicks

I'm a 20-something gal working in Children's Library Services. My likes include googly eyes, coffee, magical realism, leading Story Hours, and forcing my taste in books down people's throats. I have a pet rabbit named Moxie Crimefighter.
This entry was posted in Friday Feature & Follow. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Feature & Follow Friday #8

  1. I remember when The Hunger Games came out, and the actress who played Rue was black. Not a problem for me, but I was amazed at how many racist comments this got from people online who had IMAGINED Rue as being white, and now HATED her for being black.

    • pookapicks says:

      I do remember that! It was terrible.

      I think if you’re angry, you have to take a minute, stop, and ask yourself why. If the answer is, “That’s not how it was in the book,” you’ve got to consider why the director may have made a change – and if it was for a good reason. Inflexibility for inflexibility’s sake is never a good move.

  2. Vilia says:

    Annabeth’s hair colour didn’t affect me that much. I was more hung up on the fact that her mother was a famous virgin. Re the racial issue in casting – I wonder how much of the comments came from young adults who had ‘blanked’ out all references to skin colour and just assumed Rue was white, simply because the majority of the books they read and movies they watched featured white heroines.

  3. Charlotte says:

    Reminds me how I reacted violently when Gary Oldman was casted to play Sirius Black for HP. I mean, come on. Gary Oldman is cool but he doesn’t have Sirius Black’s dark handsome looks. *sighs*

    Old follower via bloglovin!

    Thoughts and Pens FF.

  4. Not every book needs to become a movie, right? I totally see where you’re coming from!

  5. Lisa Hines says:

    Hello,
    Lovely blog!
    I’m a new follower.
    My blog is My Favorite Things

Leave a Reply

