Feature & Follow Friday #7

I’ve been absent from the “Feature & Follow” scene for about a month now. Sorry about that, pals! (I really should be apologizing to myself, as it’s seriously interfered with my blog traffic). All my spare time has been spent helping my human friend, Alyisha, to set up her girly book review blog, “No Boys Allowed Reviews.”

nba

You’d think she’d be more capable of blogging on her own, seeing as all it really requires is a brain and the ability to type. And, seeing as it’s a group blog, she even has four other mortals to consult with but still she comes c r a w l i n g to me. Humans are always going on and on about their superior intellects and their opposable thumbs, but when push comes to shove, they’re always asking us supernatural beings for help – regardless of our digit situation. I can type a whole blog entry with my wiggly nose faster than she can gently place her fingers upon the a, s, d, f, j, k, l, ; home keys. (I guess, to be fair, bunnies are known for their incredible speed, so I shouldn’t judge her too harshly.)

But enough about Alyisha. Let’s get back to what you really came here to read about: pookas! And their bookshelves.

This week, our two hosts Alison Can Read and Parajunkee devised an activity for those participating in their hop:

“Bookshelf Tour!”, they proclaimed. “Take us on a tour of your shelves!”

I think the idea was to bring readers on a video tour, but that presents a problem for me. When your main method of transportation involves a lot of bouncing, it doesn’t make for the best video ever. To say that the camera gets jostled is severely downplaying it. Then there was the issue of how to hold the camera while I hopped… I kind of need all four of my feet to get around. I can’t have two, or even one of them, doubling as a hand. I thought about getting a helmet and then taping the camera to the top of that, but in the end, I took the easy way out. I hope these photos are an acceptable substitute.

Image

My main fiction bookshelf, A – O (organized by author’s last name).
Note the hardcover *and* paperback versions of “American Gods.”

Image

My second fiction bookshelf, O – Z. There are some Literary Theory books on the bottom shelf, along with some essays and bios. I was really interested in Robert Frost for awhile (guy was nuts!). The shelf to the far left (under the apatosaurus) is a mish-mosh of things. On the bottom are books about cookies, wizards, and my childhood favorite, “Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day.”

Image

You may have noticed that I left the very last cube free. I like to sit in there sometimes. It reminds me of warrens past. Above my head are books I’m borrowing (either from the library or friends). Right now, among other things, I’ve got out “The Arrivals” by Melissa Marr and “Where’d You Go, Bernadette?” by Maria Semple. Reviews coming soon!

bookshelf4

This one’s predominantly Non-Fiction. It’s the smallest shelf… and you might notice that I have a very loose definition of “Non-Fiction,” given that most of these books are about religion. There’re also some of my boyfriend’s comics. On top are one of my favorite snacks (it’s a raisin medley from Trader Joe’s. It’s got purple, red, and yellow raisins – the red ones, known as “flame raisins” are the best), and my 2 pet dwarf frogs: The Johns. They’re named after John Flansburgh and John Linnell of “They Might Be Giants.”

Image

My kitchen bookshelf, completely lacking in cookbooks. It’s because I survive mostly on hay (sometimes I add a little bit of mint, rose-hips, and chamomile to it! Delish!) and coffee, of course. (Note to self: buy more K-Cups).
Instead, the shelves house ARCs, from when I used to work at the bookstore, and Lemony Snicket’s “A Series of Unfortunate Events.”

Image

And finally, my hallway bookcase, which is basically overflow & stuff I bought at library book sales after I organized my main shelves. Please note the tiny door, which leads to Wonderland. White rabbit, my ass. Alice needs to get her eyes checked. I’m clearly grey — silver, if you want to take intellectual liberties. But white? Come on. What was it with authors in the 1860’s and white animals? So played out…
Please, also note the homemade sugar skull, complete with a seashell-unicorn horn and glow-in-the-dark puffy paint designs. One day, a robin’s egg blue typewriter will sit atop this shelf… It’d look so good with the rug, right?!

Thus concludes our Bookshelf Tour! – which would perhaps make for the geekiest episode of Cribs ever. I didn’t include any photos of my bedroom, as anywhere there are books is where the magic happens.

Have a great weekend! Don’t forget to check back soon for my review of Melissa Marr’s “The Arrivals“!

About pookapicks

I'm a 20-something gal working in Children's Library Services. My likes include googly eyes, coffee, magical realism, leading Story Hours, and forcing my taste in books down people's throats. I have a pet rabbit named Moxie Crimefighter.
This entry was posted in Friday Feature & Follow. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Feature & Follow Friday #7

  1. And the Pooka makes an appearance!!! Aside from your awesome taste in books, I’m going to say I love that bust with the yellow glasses … and do you play the guitar? what a talented pooka you are 🙂

    (PS i love you more and more. i have Lemony’s complete set too minus the boxes)

    • pookapicks says:

      Why, thank you!
      The bust is of Medusa, actually, so the glasses are not only fashionable but a safety precaution, as well. Can’t have her turning my unsuspecting guests to stone.
      And my boyfriend plays the guitar (pink strap and all), but I thought I’d look cooler if I neglected to mention that detail. 😉
      I’ll be hoppin’ over to visit you soon!

  2. Johanna says:

    Wow, that was the funniest and cutest book tour ever, loved reading it! I love your shelves and the overall style of your crib, there’s probably not one pooka out there who isn’t insanely jealous. 😉

    Old Follower.
    Thanks for visiting my FF.

    Johanna @ ChallengingReads

  3. Love your gorgeous bookshelves!
    Pooka is so awesome, I also have 2 bunnies 🙂
    Have a great weekend!

    New follower on Bloglovin!

    Sugar & Snark

  4. Amber H. says:

    I love that you have your own little spot to read in your shelves. looks cozy!!

    I came to end your pain, the “rhino in a tutu” is a TY beanie baby triceretops. I spelled it wrong I’m sure.

    Amber @Paradise of Pages

  5. cfiel25 says:

    Aha! I wish I could have the space to put bookshelves all around the house. Your bookshelves are so terrific. That’s what I wanted. 😀 And, can I hug that not-so-little bunny?

    New follower on bloglovin!

    Here’s my Thoughts and Pens FF.

  6. Ooh, I loved your tour! 🙂 So awesome… and that statue with sunglasses in the first pic is pretty sweet!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier… I am now following your blog via Bloglovin!

  7. Mich says:

    nice shelves.
    hope you can visit my Follow Friday

  8. megann31 says:

    I find it interesting that you have bookshelves all over the place. I, personally, have an intense need to have my books all in one room. I don’t like the idea of having them hang out separately around the house.

  9. Jaime says:

    I love that you have bookshelves in every room. That’s what I call living the dream. Of course the pooka needs a special spot.
    I can’t wait to read your thoughts on Where’d You Go, Bernadette?
    New follower via Bloglovin’.

  10. I love your shelves. I totally went through a Robert Frost phase and have a few books of his stuff. Alexander is also one of my favorite kids books. It’s one of those where people have no idea what I’m talking about and I think. Are you kidding me!?

Leave a Reply

