Feature & Follow “Friday” #4

I spent my sultry, summer Friday in a heat-induced haze, which led me to forget all about Parajunkee & Alison Can Read‘s weekly “Feature & Follow,” which went up yesterday. I’d be lying if I said that the desire for sweet air conditioning and cold beer didn’t take precedence over my desire to make new friends in the blogging community. The beer might’ve also had something to do with my forgetfulness… But now that my thirst (for hops) and the Earth’s thirst (for rainwater) have both been sated, I’m ready to participate.

This week’s bookish question is:

Q.) Book Vacay: Where is the best destination reading spot for you? (Where do you like to go to read other than your home)?

A.) Is it cheating if I say that the best vacation is a stay-cation?

In my life, I have been blessed with some seriously killer backyards. If you’d asked me this question two years ago, or even four years ago, I wouldn’t have had to go very far to find my favorite reading spot (other than my plump, cozy reading chair). I only would’ve had to go down the stairs and out my own back door, and here’s what I would have fallen into:

The Ghosts of Backyards Past:

Image

Some human friends playing Scrabble out on my back lawn (four years ago).

Image

Backyard #2 (two years ago).

Image

(Sittin’ On) The Dock of the Bay. Or I guess, technically, it was a pond.

tiverton3

Some birds about to neck.

I still can’t wrap my head around the fact that a Pooka like myself, strapped for cash such as she is, was able to find such gorgeous, cheap apartments (and I even get some extra length outta the ears!). When I moved to where I live now, I wasn’t so lucky. What is it they say? It’s not what’s on the outside, but what’s on the inside that counts? That description fits my new place a lot better. But I think “they” are a bunch of dummies. When I move again, I’ll be looking for some scenic, outdoor reading territory. For now, though, I have to put on my walking shoes and take about fifteen minutes before my bunny hops bring me to my new favorite reading spot:

Image

The public park in the autumn sunshine.

The simple answer is: give me some flat land on which to spread a blanket and some water, and I’m good to go.

I try always to do as Emerson advised, “Live in the sunshine, swim in the sea… drink the wild air”, and read a good book.

About pookapicks

I'm a 20-something gal working in Children's Library Services. My likes include googly eyes, coffee, magical realism, leading Story Hours, and forcing my taste in books down people's throats. I have a pet rabbit named Moxie Crimefighter.
This entry was posted in Friday Feature & Follow. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Feature & Follow “Friday” #4

  1. Following via bloglovin from the hop would love a follow back
    Becca
    http://bsreviewers.blogspot.com

  2. Love your previous backyards!! We back up to a preserve, which makes me happy, but it’s still not quite that scenic. Still, I love to sit outside and listen to the birds and watch the deer chomping on the neighbors’ flowers. 🙂

    I’m an old follower.
    Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction

    • pookapicks says:

      Despite all the beauty, I’ve never seen deer in my backyard. Many bunny friends, some swans, and even a great blue heron! But no deer… and now there’s just other people’s underwear hanging out on the line. Haha. Ah, well…

  3. Holy crow … these were your backyards? You’re definitely spoilt and yes, all you do need is a nice blankie and good book with backyards like these hahaha 🙂

    GGM is one of my absolute faves. I have an old review of Strange Pilgrims here:
    http://guiltlessreading.blogspot.com/2007/04/strange-pilgrims-by-gabriel-garcia.html

    Hope you love it as much as I do!!

  4. eightbitbrit says:

    How did you get such nice back yards? I’m envious. I have one crab apple tree. Actually when I lived in Shrewsbury there was a waterfall. Every other yard has been seriously lacking scenery.

    • pookapicks says:

      The first one was in Worcester, Brit! West side. Crazy, right? And I split the apartment with 2 of my friends, so I think I paid about $300 a month + utilities. It seems like a dream now…

  5. What great backyards! I would probably go for the second one if I had to pick, since I love water, but both look like they’re straight out of a movie set!

    • pookapicks says:

      Thanks! They were both on the water, set on ponds, but second one was much larger. In the winter, we could walk clear across it without falling in. People would even ice fish!

  6. Hi I’m following thru from Parajunkie’s follow friday.
    Following you on Bloglovin & Facebook!
    “Literary Quill Promotions”
    “Literary Quill Reviews”

  7. April says:

    I agree. If I had your backyards I would look forward to stay-cations. Thanks for stopping by my blog and I agree, how could anyone not love lemon cake? I am now following on bloglovin.

    -April @ Once Upon a Coffin

  8. cerianh says:

    You’ve had some gorgeous backyards, I’m very jealous of backyard #2!
    I’m a new Bloglovin’ follower, here’s My FF 🙂

    • pookapicks says:

      Some moms have the best gardens!
      My mother can’t garden to save her life. She kills cacti. (Okay, that might be an exaggeration. But a green thumb is not something she possesses. We joke about her complete lack of skills).

      But my boyfriend’s mother? Man. Her garden & backyard are lovely. If I’d had a picture on-hand I would’ve added it to my post. There’s this little outdoor canopied area, with comfy chairs that rock. But my favorite part is the birds that visit. It’s perfect to gaze up from your reading, only to see a cardinal, or a bluejay (who are jerk-bully-birds, I’ve learned), or a goldfinch, or a mischievous squirrel munching away at the treats she’s left out. So peaceful 🙂

  9. diamondnazaneen says:

    Omg, you weren’t kidding when you said you were seriously backyard-blessed!? Holy Moly! 🙂 that’s so cool! I love those views are so amazing. I’m a new bloglovin follower.

    Thanks for stopping by my FF

    Dee @ Dee’s Readd

  10. Kelly says:

    Every one of those photos look like AMAZING places to read! I haven’t been so blessed. My backyard doesn’t even have a tree for shade (anymore, at least.. It was cut down.) Thanks for stopping by! New follower via bloglovin.

    • pookapicks says:

      That was my experience growing up. I tried to plant a tree once in the backyard when I was little, and I was so anxious for it to grow up big and strong! But it just died. 😦 Apparently my lawn was hostile territory. My parents have managed to grow some lilacs now, 20-something years later, but there are still no trees.

      At least it meant that I appreciated the nature I had when I had it! The longest I lived in either of those places was 2 years. I’m looking forward to being in one, beautiful place for a longer time — someday!

  11. Annette says:

    All of those spots are lovely — as long as the weather cooperates! Thanks for sharing. And, thank for visiting!

  12. Oooh, I love your reading spots. I used to have a hammock underneath my lilac bush, but those dratted squirrels chewed it up!
    Cindy

  13. Amy says:

    Wow, you’ve had some seriously gorgeous backyards! I’m completely jealous! Reading outside in the sunshine near a lake or river etc is just so beautiful. I think it actually makes the book I’m reading even better (if that’s even possible?) Are those Flamingos in that pic? I’ve never seen any up close before (apart from the plastic ones haha)

    • pookapicks says:

      They’re totally plastic. Haha. 😉
      I can’t remember ever having seen flamingos up close either! But I’m sure I had to have right? At a zoo, or something? It seems impossible that I’d have gone this many years without seeing one. So different from what life and expectations were like a century ago, huh?!

Leave a Reply

