Feature & Follow Friday #3

It’s Friday again! Which means a whole new “Feature & Follow” question from Parajunkee and Alison Can Read, and a whole new chance to make some more blogger pals.

This week, our two hosts have requested photographic evidence of our existence. As a front, they’ve also asked that some of our favorite books be in the picture. Clever rouse. I really hope they don’t sell this to The National Enquirer. Or, if they do, I hope they’re considerate enough to offer me a chunk of the profit. I may or may not split my earnings with The Great Golden Dragon of the Tower of Tomes. He kind of owes me.

You see, I’ve hired him to guard my treasures. But you may notice that  my copy of The Magicians by Lev Grossman is missing. Only the sequel appears. He’s supposed to follow a very strict set of rules if anyone approaches, including myself.

First, you must beseech him and make your request. Try to be humble and bow your head. (I have trouble with that last bit. Pookas are very prideful creatures).

Image

Then, if he begs you “come hither,” you must whisper the secret password in his fearsome ear.

Image

But the dragon has a sweet spot for ice cream sandwiches. Bring one of those bad boys with you, (it’s no easy task to keep it from melting on your arduous journey to his pillar), and find his hidden ticklish spot, and my books are as good as freaking borrowed. At least he’s a good judge of character and always lends them to others from whom he knows they’ll be returned. He’s lucky, too. His fire breath would mean nothing against a PookaWoman scorned.

Have you read I Capture the Castle, The Blind AssassinAmerican GodsThe Magicians, or The Magician King? If not, let me know if you need some encouraging! I’ll recommend the jackets off of those suckers! (See: The Blind Assassin for proof).
If you have, were you as wooed as I?

About pookapicks

I'm a 20-something gal working in Children's Library Services. My likes include googly eyes, coffee, magical realism, leading Story Hours, and forcing my taste in books down people's throats. I have a pet rabbit named Moxie Crimefighter.
This entry was posted in Friday Feature & Follow. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Feature & Follow Friday #3

  1. eightbitbrit says:

    You are so freaking cute.

    • pookapicks says:

      Haha. Thanks!
      Adam didn’t think so at 7 o’clock this morning when I was pleading with him to take a picture of our rabbit and a stuffed reptile before he went to work 😉

  2. Amber H. says:

    hahah! I love the dragon, I think i need one for my own shelf!!

    New follower!

    Here’s my FF

    Amber @Paradise of Pages

    • pookapicks says:

      *Everyone* needs a dragon. Hopefully, if you score one, yours will be a little less open to temptation (via frozen dairy treats or otherwise). Good luck!

  3. Cute pic. I am following you from the hop. I would love return followers on bloglovin please

  4. I don’t have a Pooka but I do have a troika of dragons: Omphalos, Roarshock, and Psyche. They adore kids, so much so that Omphalos has a permanent crook in her neck from kids hanging on their. I frequently discover them tied together with bits of strings, scarves, and cords after a covey of kids has passed through their living room lair.

  5. Those are sweet pictures! And “American Gods” is the only one of those I’ve read – though I started “The Magicians” and didn’t get through it.

    • pookapicks says:

      Oh, you should try again sometime! Weirdly, I really disliked it the first time I read it. Then the sequel came out and I was inexplicably excited. So, I went back and read the first one and — well, you see where it is now. In a place of honor and distinction. A Book among books.

  6. That is too cute!! Makes me miss my bunnies 😦
    Such a cutie and a handsome dragon!!! I will no and look up those books always looking for new reads 🙂

    New Follower Facebook & Bloglovin

    Have a great weekend

    Michelle@Because reading is better than real life

    • pookapicks says:

      Oh, man! Your FF’s hilarious! I am most definitely following you back 🙂

      And feel free to chat with me about your bunnies anytime! People who are in the rabbit-know are too few and far between.

  7. Meredith says:

    I LOVE the pics. They are too funny. I haven’t read any of these yet, I’ll have to check them out. I swear, my TBR list is never ending. Old follower. Happy Friday!

    Meredith
    Meredith’s Musings

    • pookapicks says:

      Thank you! And I know exactly what you’re saying about TBR lists. It’s so hard working in a library – because people expect you to have read everything on the shelves, and oftentimes, all you can say is “It’s on my list.”

  8. Kristin says:

    I’m not sure who’s photobombing who here but I’m loving it.
    Kristin @ Book Sniffers Anonymous

    • pookapicks says:

      Thanks! I kind of ignored the “bomb” part of “photobomb” and went for a straight photo. I may have a problem embracing spontaneity… but I had fun!

  9. Kritika says:

    I love this blog post! I really liked American Gods (read it in January), and I love Margaret Atwood so I’ve been meaning to read Blind Assassin.
    New bloglovin follower!

    – Kritika at Snowflakes and Spider Silk

    • pookapicks says:

      “The Blind Assassin” is so, so good. I think I may need to do a re-read sometime soon. It’s got one of my favorite quotes ever in it:

      “”All stories are about wolves. All worth repeating, that is. Anything else is sentimental drivel.”

  10. Jenny says:

    That dragon seems to be doing a bang up job of guarding your books! The bunny is trying to work her magic but he’s having none of it, well done dragon!!! Thanks so much for visiting my blog, definitely a new follower here now!

  11. Johanna says:

    I couldn’t say now which pic is cuter, yours definitely rocks!

    Thanks for stopping by my FF. New Follower!

  12. Shannon says:

    Thanks for your sweet comment on my bomb. But your’s is hands down the better. I love the bunny!!! I’m now follower on BL!!

  13. HAHA This is the BEST post I have seen yet! SO clever! And “American Gods” is an excellent choice for a favorite! I love Gaiman so much. Thanks for stopping by my blog! Following back on FB 😀

  14. nmhewitt says:

    This is an adorable post–I loved it!! I am a new follower via Bloglovin’!

    You can find my FF here.

  15. I was considering going with a Neil Gaiman book but changed my mind at the last second. Your FF is by far the greatest post of this week!! Adorable photobomb 🙂

    You have an awesome site! New Bloglovin’ Follower.

    My FF HERE.
    -Seirra @ Dear, Restless Reader

  16. Oh God this is so darn cute. I followed you by email btw. 🙂 Here’s my FF
    http://thatartsygirlsbookblog.wordpress.com/2013/07/13/feature-and-follow-friday-2/

  17. Adelma Marie says:

    Hahahaa, this is so adorable! I will definitely be reading I Capture the Castle, no encouraging needed. Oh, I have answered your question about The Infernal Devices, sorry it took me so long. Following you via bloglovin. Thanks for stopping by! :]

    http://beautifulchaptersblog.blogspot.com/2013/07/blog-hop-feature-and-follow-friday-7.html#more

  18. Love the pics and love your site name. I used to have a rabbit that I would tell everyone I thought was a pooka. People never knew what I was talking about.

Leave a Reply

