48hbc: “The Starting Line”

I am beyond excited to be starting my first 48 Hour Book Challenge this morning. What is a 48 Hour Book Challenge, you ask? Basically, you take a straight 48-hour period & read as many books as you can, sleep as little as you can, and blog as much as you can about what you’ve read. You challenge yourself, see what kind of stuff you’re made of, put some pages where your mouth is, become part of a community that’s as eccentrically nerdy as you are, and you even have the opportunity to win great prizes (Free books! What could be greater?!)

I’m even more excited about the next two days because of the weather. As an East Coast Pooka, I’m about to experience optimum reading conditions. Today, I can look forward to 24 hours of grey, wet, cozy silence — interrupted only by the pitter-patter of raindrops plashing against my windowpanes. (It will almost be like I’m back in my native Ireland.) I’ll indulge in numerous hot beverages, have my paws tucked into my bunny slippers (so meta, I know), and be surrounded by yards and yards of crocheted blankets.

Tomorrow, it’ll be a sunny seventy-eight degrees with zero chance of rain. How incredible is that?! I’ll sacrifice about a half-an-hour of reading time to drag my tired bunny ass & my bulging backpack full of reads to the beach. Then, I’ll bask in the sun, listen to waves slap against the shore, and lose myself in the world of stories.

I’m so happy, I’m like a pig in shit — except that I’m a magical lagomorph up to her ears in books.

Here I am, all “hopped” up on caffeine (look into my eyes: any guesses on how many cups of coffee I’ve already had?), ready to take on the world! Bring it, Book Challenge!:

48hbc tbr

Note: I’ve got a lot riding on this. I’ve set aside twelve books to read, figuring that I might average about three hours per book. This is highly optimistic. My boyfriend doesn’t think I can read more than three. I think I’ll read double what he thinks and half of what I hope. Full disclosure: betting was involved. Initially, we agreed that if I surpassed his expectations, I’d get a free massage. If I didn’t, he’d get one. There’s no chance he would’ve won that one. Like taking candy from a baby. Then, I shook on double or nothing. Guys, if I read six books, I get a free massage and he’ll finally hang up the stuff that’s been sitting in the corner, ready to go up on the walls since Christmas. If I read fewer than six books, I get nothing. I need to win that bet. I must win that bet! Failure is not an option! I’m a little bit nervous, seeing as I’m a rabbit about to enter a race. We all know how that fable goes… but I’m not a real rabbit. So to Hell with Aesop! Fast and bad-ass wins the race! Ready, set, go!!!

About pookapicks

I'm a 20-something gal working in Children's Library Services. My likes include googly eyes, coffee, magical realism, leading Story Hours, and forcing my taste in books down people's throats. I have a pet rabbit named Moxie Crimefighter.
This entry was posted in 48 Hour Book Challenge (2013). Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to 48hbc: “The Starting Line”

  1. Charlotte says:

    truly it is good for reading hereabouts! The book bunny is a lovey touch, and I hope your reading goes well!

  2. eightbitbrit says:

    Ooooh! Can’t wait to hear about Warm Bodies! Good luck with your stack! 😀

  3. Good luck! You can do it! There’s a lot riding on this! 😉 And it looks like you’ve got some great books in your stack. Have fun!

  4. Jenni says:

    Good luck! I’m sure you’ll win your bet 🙂

  5. msyingling says:

    Ooh! Delaney AND Cashore! Those will keep you turning the pages. The weather was very Irish here this week as well– about 60 degrees and a bit damp, but we have a bit of sun peaking out right now. Hope you enjoy reading with your bunny; Sylvie (my dog) would very much like to “cuddle” with him/her!

  6. Love your TBR pic. That bunny looks lucky! I really must get on Eleanor & Park. All of the cool kids are reading it.

    • pookapicks says:

      I didn’t end up reading it for the Challenge, so I haven’t joined the rank of the cool kids yet. You and I can be hopelessly lame together (until we get there). Glad to have company!

  7. Pingback: Pooka Quick Pick #6: “The Handmaid’s Tale” | The Pooka Picks

  8. Pingback: Book Review #8: “Foretold: 14 Tales of Prophecy and Prediction” | The Pooka Picks

  9. Pingback: Learning the Internet (Sashay! Shantay!) | The Pooka Picks

Leave a Reply

